Last updated:

What are permission sets?

Find out how you can use permission sets to manage what your teams can do in your SafetyCulture organization.

What are permission sets?

Permission sets are bundles of granular permissions that allow administrators to manage which features their team members can use within their SafetyCulture organization. By assigning permission sets to particular users, you can control what changes they can make, such as adding or removing users, updating billing details, or managing membership in groups and sites in SafetyCulture.

By default, each organization comes with the following permission sets, which you can use as a foundation for new permission sets you may want to create:

An example of the default permission sets in SafetyCulture.

You can fully customize or delete all the pre-built permission sets, apart from "Administrator". For the "Administrator" permission set, you can add the override permissions to view and manage all data in your organization.

Managing permission sets is only available to organizations on the Premium Plan or Enterprise Plan. By default, all users in an organization on the Free Plan have the "Administrator" permission set.

Get started with permission sets

Change the permission set for users

For most organizations, the pre-built permission sets should be enough to get started. Depending on who's responsible for what in your organization, you can change each user's permission set to ensure they don't make unwanted changes to settings or features.

Bulk change users' permission sets via the web app.

Create or edit permission sets

If you need more than the pre-built permission sets to cater to your organization's needs, you can create new or edit existing permission sets at any time.

Set default permission sets

If required, you may also want to update the default permission set for each seat type in your organization so that when adding users in bulk to different seat types, it's easier to manage what they can do in your organization.

Available permissions

Organization

Manage organization settings, like single sign-on or custom branding, and set up integrations.

Billing

Manage billing settings, like your organization’s billing details or payment methods, and view tax invoices.

Permissions

Select or change permission sets for users, as well as add, remove, and manage custom permission sets.

Users

Add, remove, and manage users, as well as view user profiles.

Credentials

Manage credential types, add credentials, and view credential media files.

Sites

Create, edit, and delete sites, as well as manage site membership.

Groups

Create, edit, and delete groups, as well as manage group membership.

Create

Create new templates and import from the Public Library.

Global Response Sets

Create, edit, and delete Global Response Sets.

Upload to Public Library

Upload or delete templates from the Public Library and Shared Library.

Report layouts

Create, edit, and delete report layouts that are available to all templates.

Administration

Manage Training settings, view training analytics, and facilitate group training sessions.

Manage content

Publish and assign courses, as well as create quizzes and paths.

Create courses

Create and share courses. Please note publishing and assigning courses require the “Manage content” permission.

Access

Access the Training feature to take courses and quizzes.

Manage

Create, edit, and delete all Analytics dashboards in your organization, including custom dashboards.

Create dashboards (site-based)

Create Analytics dashboards that show data based on site membership, and edit and delete dashboards that you’ve created.

Create dashboards (creator-based)

Create Analytics dashboards showing data based on the creator, and edit and delete dashboards that you’ve created.

View

View Analytics dashboards you have access to.

Settings

Manage issue settings, including categories, access, and QR codes.

Access

Access the Issues feature to report and view issues.

Manage

View, edit, and delete all schedules in your organization.

Create

Create, edit, and delete schedules. Each user can only manage the schedules that they’ve created.

Manage

Add, edit, or remove sensors, gateways, and weather data feeds.

Access

Access the Sensors feature to view sensors, gateways, and weather data feeds.

Settings

Manage asset settings, including type and field configurations.

Manage

Create, edit, archive, and delete assets.

Access

Access to the Assets feature. If unselected, users can still add assets to inspections and actions.

Manage

Create, edit, and delete Heads Ups.

Settings

Manage tags for files.

Manage

Create, edit, and archive files and folders.

Manage all data

Edit, archive, and delete all templates, inspections, issues, and actions. This overrides any existing access rules.

View all data

View all templates, inspections, and actions on the web app. This overrides any existing access rules. Please note that the "Enable for mobile app" option is not available for organizations with more than 200 active templates.

Permissions in the SafetyCulture Marketplace are managed separately from permission sets.

Frequently asked questions

If your organization is on the Free Plan, all users are assigned the "Administrator" permission set by default, and managing permission sets won't be available. To manage permissions across your organization, consider upgrading to the Premium Plan.

It may be that the "Enable for mobile app" option isn't enabled for the "View all data" permission, meaning that you can only view the data via the web app. If your organization has no more than 200 active templates, you can edit your permission set and check the "Enable for mobile app" option below "View all data".

No, each user must have a permission set assigned. If you want to restrict what a user can do in your organization to the minimum, you can create a permission set with no granular permissions selected and assign it to that user.

Need more help?
In this article