Last updated:

Add and remove users from groups

Learn how to add and remove users from groups via the web app.

What is the benefit of adding users to groups?

Groups are a great way to help you organize users and manage document access in bulk.

Each user can only be part of up to 100 groups.

Add a user to a group

  1. Log in to the web app.

  2. Click your organization name on the lower-left corner of the page and select Groups.

  3. Click the group.

  4. Click Add users to group on the upper-right of the user list.

  5. In the side panel, click the dropdown menu and select the user.

  6. Click Done.

  7. Click Save and apply.

Add a user to multiple groups

  1. Log in to the web app.

  2. Click your organization name on the lower-left corner of the page and select Users.

  3. Click the name of the user.

  4. Select the Groups tab above the “Details” box.

  5. Click Add user to groups.

  6. In the side panel, click the dropdown menu and select the groups you want to add the user to.

  7. Click Done.

  8. Click Save and apply.

Remove a user from a group

  1. Log in to the web app.

  2. Click your organization name on the lower-left corner of the page and select Groups.

  3. Click the group.

  4. Check the box next to the user's name.

  5. Click Delete iconRemove user from group on the lower-right of the page.

  6. In the pop-up window, click Remove.

Bulk add and remove users via the group matrix

  1. Log in to the web app.

  2. Click your organization name on the lower-left corner of the page and select Groups.

  3. Click Group matrix on the upper-right of the page.

  4. On this page, group names are laid out horizontally and usernames are listed vertically. Both in alphabetical order.

  5. Add and remove users accordingly by checking and unchecking the users' boxes against respective groups. You can use the filter to narrow down the list or click on the user/group to bring their checkboxes into view. Add and remove users via the group matrix via the web app.

If you have the "Platform management: Sites" permission, you can also bulk add or remove users from sites as members.

Need more help?
In this article