Last updated:

Add users to my organization

Learn how to add users to your organization via the web app.

Take note

  • You can only add users via the web app.

  • Each user or pending invite in an organization takes up a seat.

  • If your organization is on the Free Plan, you'll only be able to have up to 10 users, including yourself, in the organization.

  • If your organization is on the Premium Plan or Enterprise Plan, you have an unlimited number of free seats and can pay for as many full seats as required.

If you're experiencing issues while adding users, please contact our customer support team for assistance.

Add a user

  1. Log in to the web app.

  2. Click your organization name on the lower-left corner of the page and select Users.

  3. Click Plus iconAdd users on the upper-right corner of the page.

  4. Enter the user's details. Select the user's seat type if your organization is on the Premium Plan or Enterprise Plan:

    • Full seat: Each full seat incurs a cost and enables the user to gain access to SafetyCulture's paid features, such as conducting unlimited inspections, managing organization permissions, and using Analytics.

    • Free seat: Each free seat doesn't incur a cost and enables the user to access a limited amount of functionality, such as conducting a limited number of inspections, receiving Heads Ups, as well as using the Actions and Issues features.

  5. Click Next.

  6. If required, add the user to groups and sites in your organization preemptively.

    Add users to your organization via the web app.
  7. Click Add users. Please note that if the user's email is already registered to an SafetyCulture account, an invite will be sent for that user to accept and join your organization.

  8. In the pop-up window, choose whether to notify users whose passwords you've set with custom instruction messages or not:

    • Don't notify users: Users whose passwords you've set won't receive an email.

    • Send password instructions via email: Users whose passwords you've set will receive an email about their account, including a custom message you can add.

    • If you haven't set passwords for users, they'll receive an email to activate their account and set a password.

      Notification options while adding users via the web app.

Add users in bulk

You can only bulk add up to 25,000 users in total per CSV upload and can only add up to 3,000 users in full seats at once.

  1. Log in to the web app.

  2. Click your organization name on the lower-left corner of the page and select Users.

  3. Click image on the upper-right corner of the page and select Cloud upload iconBulk upload users (CSV).

  4. Click Upload a CSV on the upper-right corner of the page.

  5. Download the example CSV template by clicking Download CSV template. Download the add user CSV template via the web app.

  6. Add new users by entering their details in the relevant columns of the CSV template:

    • email: The email address of the user you want to add.

    • first_name: The first name of the user you want to add.

    • last_name: The surname of the user you want to add.

    • password: The password of the user's account. You can leave this field blank to allow users to set up their own passwords.

    • groups: Each "role_id" of the groups you want to add the user to. You can leave this field blank to add the user to groups with a dropdown menu later.

    • sites: The names of the sites or levels you want to add the user to. You can also enter the site's "location_id" or "id" from the site list. If you leave this field blank, you can add the user to sites with a dropdown menu later.

    • seat_type: The seat type you want the user to occupy.

  7. Drag and drop your CSV file into the "Drag your CSV files here" box or click browse to select the file from your computer directory.

  8. Match your CSV column headers with their corresponding fields, then click Review data. You can also add users to groups and sites at this stage using the corresponding dropdown menus.

  9. Confirm that your CSV data has uploaded correctly, then click Upload users. Please note that if any user's email is already registered to a SafetyCulture account, an invite will be sent for that user to accept and join your organization.

  10. In the pop-up window, choose whether to notify users whose passwords you've set with custom instruction messages or not:

    • Don't notify users: Users whose passwords you've set won't receive an email.

    • Send password instructions via email: Users whose passwords you've set will recieve an email about their account, including a custom message you can add.

    • If you haven't set passwords for users, they'll receive an email to activate their account and set a password.

      Password options while bulk adding users via CSV via the web app.

  1. Log in to the web app.

  2. Click your organization name on the lower-left corner of the page and select Users.

  3. Click Link iconGet invite link on the upper-right corner of the page. If there's no active link, click Create a shareable link.

  4. Click Copy content iconCopy or Download QR code, and share it with your team members for them to join your organization.

  5. Please take note of the following:

    • If your organization is on the Premium Plan or Enterprise Plan, users who join your organization via invite links will be added as users in free seats. You can change their seat type to full seats as needed.

    • Each team member who opens the link will be prompted to sign up for a SafetyCulture account to join your organization. If the team member wants to use an email that's already registered to a SafetyCulture account, the team member will need to be invited via instructions in the "Add a user" section.

    • You can disable the invite link at any time. However, once the link is disabled, the next link and QR code you generate will be new ones, rather than reactivation of the old ones. This means that you would need to share the new link and QR code again for team members to join.

Create org invite link to add users | TM, web

A user is each person who logs in to SafetyCulture (formerly iAuditor). Each user has a user account and a username which, in SafetyCulture, is their email address. To access SafetyCulture's features, each user requires a seat. Depending on each user's seat type, the cost and features they can access vary.

If you need to make seats available for new users, you can deactivate or remove existing users beforehand. If your organization is on the Premium Plan or Enterprise Plan, don't forget that you can also downgrade existing users to free seats.

Need more help?