Last updated:

What is group training?

Learn about the value of the group training feature and how to run group training sessions.

What is group training?

Training in SafetyCulture is a great way to deliver workplace training in bite-sized chunks that can be accessed on any device. However, we understand that training for certain training topics may be best provided in group settings, so activities and discussions can be facilitated. Group training allows you to present any course in a slideshow style and capture your team's attendance so that their learning is recorded.

An example of a group training session on the web app.

Enable group training for a course

  1. Log in to the web app.

  2. Select Training iconTraining from the menu on the left-hand side.

  3. If you're on the "Learn" page, click Content at the top of the page and select Courses.

  4. Hover your cursor over the course and click View or Edit.

  5. If you're editing an existing course and it's published, click Edit iconEdit on the upper-right of the page.

  6. Click Set up at the top of the page.

  7. Scroll to the "DELIVERY" section and turn Group Training on. Turn Group Training on for a course via the web app.

  8. Changes are saved automatically.

If your course is currently a draft, remember to publish it to make your changes available to your team.

A course must be published for it to be used in group training sessions.

Start a group training session

  1. Log in to the web app.

  2. Select Training iconTraining from the menu on the left-hand side.

  3. Click Facilitate at the top of the page and select Group Training.

  4. Hover your cursor over the course and click Start session.

  5. On this page, you can interact with the following settings and navigation: An example of a group training session on the web app.

    • Dimension: Change the dimension of your lesson slides at the top of the page.

    • Attendees: Click Plus iconAdd attendees on the upper-right of the page to add users who are part of your session.

    • Lessons: Navigate through each lesson and their slides on the left-hand side and at the center of the page.

  6. Once the session is complete, click End session on the upper-right of the page.

  7. In the pop-up window, click End session. This also marks the users who attended the group training as having completed the course.

View a session report

  1. Log in to the web app.

  2. Select Training iconTraining from the menu on the left-hand side.

  3. Click Facilitate at the top of the page and select Group Training.

  4. Hover your cursor over the course, click image and select View session report. View the session report for a group training course via the web app.

  5. On this page, you can navigate between sessions on the left-hand side. For each session, you can view when and who attended it. If required, you can also export the record from all or individual sessions.

Frequently asked questions

Any course can be enabled to be used for group training sessions. However, depending on a course's topic and lesson slides, it may be more suitable for users to take the training on their own.

Any user with the "Training: Manage content" permission can run group training sessions.

Yes, as long as a user has been assigned the course, they can take it on their own.

Yes, each language version of a course can be enabled and run as group training sessions. However, as each language version is a different course, user attendance will be recorded separately.

Need more help?
In this article