Last updated:

Give template and inspection access to groups and users

Learn how to create access rules to give template and inspection access via the web app and the mobile app.

What are access rules?

Access rules control what templates and inspections your team has access to. Each access rule dictates which users can access a template to conduct inspections, and determines who those inspection results become available to.

Take note

For the best experience, we recommend editing access rules via the web app.

Access levels

Template

  • Conduct: Allows users to use the template to conduct new inspections.

  • Conduct, edit: Allows users to use the template to conduct new inspections, edit its content, and manage access rules.

  • Conduct, edit, delete: Allows users to use the template to conduct new inspections, edit its content and access rules, as well as archive and delete it. This access level can only be given by users who already have it.

Inspection

  • View: Allows users to view (read-only) the inspection report.

  • View, edit: Allows users to view the inspection report, edit its content, and manage access.

  • View, edit, delete: Allows users to view the inspection report, edit its content and manage access, as well as archive and delete it. This access level can only be given by users who already have it.

Create an access rule

  1. Log in to the web app.

  2. Select Templates from the menu on the left-hand side.

  3. Click the template and select Manage access in the side panel.

  4. In the access builder, click Plus iconNew access rule on the bottom of the access builder.

  5. In the rule panel, click the dropdown menu under "Template is available to" to select the groups or users you want to give template access to. Then click Done in the dropdown menu.

  6. Select the template Access level you want to give.

  7. Click the dropdown menu under "Inspection results will be available to" to select the groups or users who should have access to the inspections conducted by the groups or users above. Then click Done in the dropdown menu.

  8. Select the inspection Access level you want to give.

  9. Click Done in the rule panel.

  10. Click Save and apply.

  11. In the pop-up window, select No, apply to future only to apply the new access rules to future inspections or Yes, apply to all to apply to existing inspections as well. Please note that the "Yes, apply to all" option overrides existing inspections' access based on the updated access rules. Learn more about retroactively providing inspection access.

  1. Open the mobile app.

  2. Tap on Inspections at the bottom of your screen.

  3. Select the TEMPLATES tab at the top of your screen.

  4. Tap the template and select Manage access from the pop-up options.

  5. Tap image at the lower-right corner of your screen.

  6. Check the boxes of groups or users you want to give template access to.

  7. Tap image at the upper-right corner of your screen.

  8. For each group or user, tap image on the right-hand side to select the template access level you want to give.

  9. Tap each group or user, and then tap image at the lower-right corner of your screen.

  10. Check the boxes of groups or users who should have access to the inspections conducted by the group or user on the previous screen.

  11. Tap image at the upper-right corner of your screen.

  12. For each group or user, tap the down arrow on the right-hand side to select the inspection access level you want to give.

  1. Open the mobile app.

  2. Tap on Inspections at the bottom of your screen.

  3. Select the Templates tab at the top of your screen.

  4. Tap the template and select Manage access from the pop-up options.

  5. Tap image at the upper-right corner of your screen.

  6. Select the groups or users you want to give template access to.

  7. Tap Share at the upper-right corner of your screen.

  8. Tap each group or user, and then tap image on the right-hand side, under "TEMPLATE AVAILABLE TO", to select the template access level you want to give.

  9. Within each group or user, tap Add user or group.

  10. Select the groups or users who should have access to the inspections conducted by the group or user on the previous screen.

  11. Tap Share at the upper-right corner of your screen.

  12. For each group or user, tap image on the right-hand side to select the inspection access level you want to give.

Need more help?
In this article