Last updated:

Create advanced access rules

Learn how to create advanced access rules via the web app.

What are advanced access rules?

Advanced access rules allow you to automatically give template and inspection access to site members based on site membership. Through advanced access rules, you can also give template and inspection access to users based on a combination of their membership of groups and sites.

In general, access rules control which templates and inspections your team has access to. Each access rule dictates which user or group can use a template to conduct inspections, and determines who those inspection results become available to.

Advanced access rules are only available to organizations without users who are direct members of more than 20 sites or levels.

If you want to sign your organization up for this feature, please contact our customer support team or your customer success manager for assistance.

What you'll need

Take note

Create an advanced access rule

  1. Log in to the web app.

  2. Select Templates from the menu on the left-hand side.

  3. Click the template and select Manage access in the side panel.

  4. In the access builder, click Plus iconNew access rule on the bottom of the page.

  5. In the side panel, click the dropdown menu under "Template is available to" and select the users, groups, sites, or users in a combination of groups and sites you want to give template access to.

  6. Click Done.

  7. Click the dropdown menu under "Inspection results available to" and select Plus iconBased on Site & Group membership.

  8. Select the usersgroups, or site members who should be given inspection access from this template and click Add rule. Give advanced inspection access via the web app.

  9. If required, change the access levels by clicking Access level under each dropdown menu in the side panel and adjusting accordingly.

  10. Click Done in the side panel.

  11. Click Save and apply.

  12. In the pop-up window, select No, apply to future only to apply the updated access settings to future inspections or Yes, apply to all to apply to existing inspections as well. Please note that the "Yes, apply to all" option overrides existing inspections' access based on the updated access rules. Learn more about retroactively providing inspection access.

Need more help?
In this article